The One When I’m Still A Virgin

I have never considered myself as a person who ever thinks about having sex with someone or a person who looks at a guy for that reason — is it impossible for a twenty year old girl to look at a guy for any other reason besides wanting to have sex with them then and there? If the women in TOWIE can be best friends with guys, without people thinking there’s anything going on between the sheets, then why can’t I? Why does the world of TV make something so complicated so simple and stress free?

From a young age I have found it easier to be close friends with guys than girls my age. Being friends with guys doesn’t involve any of the bitchy or malicious behaviour that often comes with being friends with girls my age. I suppose me being overweight helped with that, because what fourteen year old guy is going to be interested in dating the fat girl whose just lost their Mum to cancer and hates themselves more than they’ve ever hated anyone?

In my generation loosing your virginity is an extreme right of passage for both guys and girls; nowadays if you don’t loose your virginity by the time you finish college then the chances of you ever loosing it in your teens are very slim. From personal experience, I know that there will be a small group of girls in your year who have yet to have their cherries popped.

Being a virgin as a teenager wasn’t easy. All of my friends had, had sex more than once by the time we finished high school and spent a lot of time talking about one night stands, positions, and what they enjoyed the most. I never had anything to contribute to these conversations because I was still a virgin and anything I could have said to them would’ve been a made up story just so that I didn’t sound like a weirdo.

To be honest when I was at my heaviest having sex with someone was the last thing on my mind. I was more concerned about making sure that my metal framed bed hadn’t broken in the middle of the night. I was way beyond the maximum weight my bed would support. How embarrassing would that be if I was going to have sex with someone and their bed broke?

For me still being a virgin at nearly twenty-one years old has nothing to do with religious views or because I’m not ready for it to happen or because I want to wait until I’m married. It’s mostly because although I am comfortable with the way I look, I don’t want the memory of my first time to be dominated by my fat rolls getting in the way of enjoying myself.

I am quite happy being a virgin right now. It’s not the end of the world because I have the time to focus on myself and be in a good place when I am ready to have my cherry popped. And peer pressure from people around me isn’t going to change my mind about not being ready to go all the way with someone who I might not know or who I’m going to spend the rest of my life with. It doesn’t really matter if it doesn’t happen with the person I don’t spend the rest of my life with, but I would love it if I had been on at least three dates with the guy first.

If you’re still a virgin like me and aren’t ready for anything to happen yet, just remember that it’s okay. I’m only talking about my virginity because I’m feeling the pressure from my friends to lose it. It doesn’t really matter whether people know, most people probably don’t need to know that you’re still wholesome, because frankly its none of their business. Don’t let anyone pressure you into something you’re not ready for, it’s your body you can do what you want with it.

Love,

Gennie

One thought on “The One When I’m Still A Virgin

Leave a Reply

