Muse

My response to the Daily Prompt Muse.

Muse. As a word on a page it doesn’t really mean anything; and it’s not a word that I’ve ever been taught in my time at school, though I wish I had been. As a noun it has two meanings. The first is the most obvious, a woman or a force personified as a woman, who is the source of inspiration for a creative artist. It’s the definition that everyone knows and will always say when asked for the definition. I found no inspiration in this definition of muse.

I’ve always loved learning about Ancient Greece, probably because I grew up watching the Disney movie and cartoon TV series Hercules. Unfortunately, it wasn’t something that was ever mentioned in either primary school and high school and I realised very early on in my school career that I didn’t like and had no interest in learning about medieval, Victorian or Roman Times, nor did I  want to learn about the Cold War — why would I want to learn about something that had very little to do with England for my GCSE? How am I supposed to enjoy a subject if I hate what the teacher is forcing on me?

As a result of my love for Ancient Greece, I was very quickly and easily inspired by the definition of the word muse having a link to Greek Mythology. the_nine_muses_by_wegs

In Greek mythology the Nine Muses, Clio, Euterpe, Thalia, Mekopmeni, Terpsichore, Erato, Polymnia, Ourania, and Calliope, were the Greek goddesses who gave artists, philosophers and individuals the necessary inspiration for creation. They were seen as the source of the knowledge in the poetry, lyric songs, and myths that had been spread via word of mouth for centuries in the ancient culture.

According to Greek Mythology, two Muses invented theory and practice in learning. Three Muses invented musical vibrations in Lyre. Four Muses invented the four known dialects in the language — Attica, Ionian, Aeolian and Dorian. Five Muses invented the five human senses. And seven Muses invented the seven chords of the lyre, the seven celestial zones, the seven planets and the seven vocals of the Greek alphabet.

If I had been a Muse in Ancient Greece; I would love to have been able to look down from Mount Olympus and watch how the sisterhood’s inventions had changed a small part of the world and wonder at how much it would influence and inspire future generations of astronomers, playwrights, dancers, historians, poets, artists and authors.

Thanks for reading,

Gennie

Leave a Reply

