Praise

My response to the Daily Post Praise

“A continual feast of commendation is only to be obtained by merit or by wealth: many are therefore obliged to content themselves with single morsels, and recompense the infrequency of their enjoyment by excess and riot, whenever fortune sets the banquet before them.” — Samuel Johnson

Praise, noun, the expression of approval or admiration for someone or something. When I Googled the question “what is praise,” there were more hits about praising God than anything else; almost as though it’s more important to praise God than anyone else. As a non-religious person, I find it strange that I didn’t find any searches related to praising loved ones, especially children, for doing something remarkable.

As a child receiving praise was a big deal, I always felt pride in myself, and all warm and fuzzy, when my Mum praised me for something. It could have been something as small as doing well in school, but receiving the praise was honestly the highlight of my day because it came from my Mum. It never felt quite the same when someone else praised me for something.

She never went over the top with the amount of praise she gave me or my brother; but I think in a way that was a good thing because the quality of the praise became a verbal reward of sorts that I wanted to earn.

Now that I’m less than two months away from turning twenty-one, receiving praise doesn’t hold the same excitement or warm fuzzy feeling that makes me feel slightly special as it did when I was five-years-old. As well it not being an action that I would willingly go looking for; I never knew how sincere my Granddad is being when he praises me for something.

I get praised every time I announce to him that I’ve lost another inch from my waist line. I get excited when he gives me praise because I know that him being proud of what I’ve done is worth the effort I put into losing a few inches from somewhere on my body. Yesterday for example, I noticed that my thighs looked thinner in my jeans, and when I pointed it out to my Granddad he told me that he was proud of what I’d achieved in a very small space of time. I spent the rest of the day smiling because of how much his praise meant to me.

Love,

Gennie

 

Give-Praise-Quote-FB

Leave a Reply

