Joke

My response to the Daily Prompt: Joke

Is it just me or are some of these daily prompts chosen randomly or is there someone who picks a word that they know will be difficult to write about just for jokes? I know what the word joke means; it’s a noun, something said or done to provoke laughter or cause amusement, as a witticism, a short and amusing anecdote. I thought the prompt stubborn was difficult; but joke completely throws that prompt out of the water. Do I know what could potentially be written for the prompt?

No, I do not.

I write for the Daily Post Word Prompt every day and until today I hadn’t wondered if whoever choses the words for the day wants to put some people off of blogging. I know that the prompt is there to force people to write because it isn’t easy to think of a subject to write about on a daily basis. I’ve tried that process before and it is a really difficult thing to achieve when you’ve never blogged until now.

I love writing about anything and everything; the Daily Prompt gives me the encouragement I need to write when I’m not inspired by something else. It’s become a part of my daily ritual to blog because of the Daily Prompt; but when I look back through the archive searching for another eye-catching prompt I wonder if I’m the only one who has missed out on past prompts. Am I the only blogger who still wants to write about old prompts?

Are there rules that I haven’t seen that would turn the whole concept of the Daily Word Prompt into a joke if a new blogger like myself responded to an old prompt?

It’s a really good idea and I refresh my feed until the new word appears at the same time every day; but what should I do when I’m not inspired by the prompt in the slightest? Should I force myself to blog despite a lack of inspiration? Is it right that I feel guilty for not posting anything and feel the need to apologise at the beginning of the next post?

Sometimes I take one glance at the word and I know what I am going to blog about; but when the word stubborn appeared on my screen I had no idea what to write about. It took me well over an hour to come up with an idea; but not even half an hour after posting my response I deleted the post.

I had written my response after spending the entire night being ill and suffering from a lack of a good nights sleep and the result of it was a page of sentences that made no sense to anyone.  So, it was probably for the best that I deleted it.

2016-05-06-1462549231-9384829-imsorry

 

Love,

Gennie

Leave a Reply

