15th September 2016

 

Well, today marks the end of another week at Slimming World and with every week that passes I enjoy the process even more. This week I lost half a pound and I’m very proud of my achievement because it means that in six weeks I lost half a stone (that’s seven pounds if you live outside of the United Kingdom). To some of you half a pound probably isn’t that big of a deal but to me it’s another achievement in my weight loss journey to getting my life back.

I’ve come a long way since the start of my journey; when I think back to how I used to look I don’t feel anything but relief and pride. Relief because I’m not that person anymore and pride because of how far I’ve come both physically and mentally. I’m very proud of how much I’ve changed on my own; but the cycle of being overweight is stopping with me. I am not going to allow my own children to make the same decisions I made because I don’t want them to hate themselves as much as I hated myself. That would probably be the biggest mistake I could make as a parent who knows how hard it is to be that overweight especially as a teenager.

I was thinking about how much weight I’ve lost all together and after some very complicated converting of weights I was very shocked when I worked out that I’ve lost 3 stone 9.5 pounds (51.5 pounds or 23 kilograms) in the last five months.

While this is a big achievement it is slightly dampened by my own fears; I’ve never lost more than four stone, every time I do I hit a brick wall and I gain the weight back again. I’m 4.5 pounds away from that number and I’m worrying about how I’m going to get over that hurdle; I don’t know how I’m going to do it, especially with my birthday being two weeks away, but I do know that I’m not going to let anyone or anything get in the way of me leaping over that hurdle.

I hope that sticking with the Slimming World will be the thing I need to make that happen.

Love,

Gennie

Leave a Reply

